BTU Cottbus

BTUBTU mission statement

BTU Cottbus is an internationally recognised, innovation-driven institute of technology with a well-defined academic profile. Their mission is not only to impart knowledge and skills in engineering and natural sciences in a forward-looking and sustainable manner, but also to explore and to convey interdisciplinary competencies to their students.

Teaching and research at BTU meets the highest international standards in a ‘real-life laboratory’ environment, BTU combines a decidedly international orientation with a strong regional accent. By guaranteeing excellence in their specialist areas of expertise, they are striving to become European leaders in Executive Post Graduate Programmers (Lifelong Learning). BTU offers an excellent learning environment and a favourable teacher-student ratio, which together ensure outstanding career opportunities for their graduates.

Research profile

Their university is dedicated to promoting equal opportunity in science and in the community at large, both in terms of university policy and its practical implementation. BTU is also actively committed to supporting young parents in their efforts to coordinate their university studies and careers.

Scientific research at BTU is strategically concentrated on five focal areas: Environment, Energy, Materials, Building, as well as Information and Communication Technology. However, these five areas of academic focus constitute only one component of BTU’s overall research activities, in which more than one hundred university Chairs are actively involved.

BTU in numbers:

Founded: 15 July 1991
6,400 students, including 930 international students from more than 90 countries
119 professorships
526 scientific staff, of which 262 are externally funded
562 non-scientific staff, of which 53 are externally funded
University Budget 2009: 51,3 million €
External Funding 2009: 26,9 million €


Faculty 1 – Natural Sciences, Mathematics and Computer Science
Faculty 2 – Architecture, Civil Engineering and Urban Planning
Faculty 3 – Mechanical, Electrical and Industrial Engineering
Faculty 4 – Environmental Sciences and Process Engineering

The campus:

Total campus area: approx. 300,000 m²
Main working space: approx. 85,000 m²

Contact Details

Contact Christian Lehmann, Chair of Automation Technology

> End of project: 30th June 2013

The Consortium


Find us...

Facebook Twitter YouTube LinkedIn